Our Educators

Our Educators Excel Nationally

As a state, Delaware has received significant recognition for our work to improve public education. We recognize that one of the most important factors in driving student achievement is the quality of the teacher in the classroom. So, beyond recognition as a state, we strive to ensure that the individuals who take risks and create the positive changes on the ground get the recognition they deserve for their courage, creativity and commitment.


On July 1, 2015, two Delaware Educators won Presidential honors for their excellence in mathematics and science teaching. Kristin Carmen of Sussex Technical High School and Christopher Havrilla of Woodbridge High School among the 108 recipients of the prestigious Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

Our Educators are Celebrated Locally

In 2011, the recognition initiative, iEducate Delaware was developed to better celebrate, promote and support the dedication and innovation of Delaware educators.

Hear the stories of two educators who were voted iEducate Delaware Honorees.

Jacqueline Lee, the principal at Gallaher Elementary School in the Christina School District, focuses on a whole-child wellness approach to help improve student learning and achievement.

Matt Farina, a teacher at Mount Pleasant Elementary School in the Brandywine School District, created fitness programs for the school and a Brandywine School District Elementary Fitness Festival, which was open to the local communities.